Credit where it’s due

Just a quick post to link to Emma’s site as it doesn’t seem worthwhile adding a bog roll to my landing page yet.

http://emmaclarklam.blogspot.co.uk/

Emma put me onto Guy Kawasaki’s ‘APE: Author, Publisher, Entrepreneur’. Her enthusiasm for and experience of self-publishing – not to mention willingness to advise a mere friend-of-a-friend – helped me shift up a gear or two once I’d made up my mind I was going to go down that road. As I’ve commented already to my ex-study buddy Maggie, encouragement is free to dish out yet priceless to receive.

I was interested to see Emma’s recent post on Doreen Lawrence. My forthcoming novel ‘The Judge of the Dead’ is heavily-based upon corruption within the criminal justice system, and I reference the Lawrence family surveillance shenanigans within it, albeit cursorily, and despite it being a work of fiction.

It was refreshing to see – in Emma’s previous post – that I’m not the only person that has struggled with reading Henry James. I’m not averse to deploying a comma or three, but one short story I read of his contained a sentence with no less than about thirteen or fourteen of the little blighters. In the end, I was so exhausted by trying to juggle clauses that I had to have a lie-down for a bit.

One thought on “Credit where it’s due

  1. Hey Sean – good to see that the self-publishing project is underway! Good luck with ramping up the publicity machine! Next year, hope to see you at the Henley Literary Festival (lots of inspiration there for creative types).

    Like

Leave a Reply

